Temp Talk

Let temping help improve your work-life balance
From studying to childcare, we all have extra commitments outside of work and temping is a great way to fit our working lives around our personal lives.

Samiya Rajani has been temping for the last 12 months whilst she’s been studying for a Masters degree and tells us how temping has been ideal for her during her studies.

 Why did you decide to temp while you were studying?

I needed to earn some money to afford to be able to do my Masters and temping was also a great way to stay flexible, which was very important to me.

 How did the flexibility of temping help you?

It allowed me to focus on my studies when I needed to. I had one temp position for the first few months of my course, and then when the winter exam period came, I was able to stop temping and focus on my exams.

Afterwards I looked for another temp job and stayed in that role for the next four months until I had to start studying for my final exams. I also temped in various roles throughout the summer, as I was working on my dissertation.

 If you could give temps one piece of advice, what would it be?

Make sure you know what personal commitments you have so you can fit your temping around these and only apply for suitable temp jobs. If you know you have to be somewhere everyday at 4 o’clock, don’t apply for a job that requires you to work until 5:30.

Start searching for temporary work now »

 Accountancy Accountancy (Qualified) Admin & Secretarial Customer Service Engineering Hospitality & Catering IT & Telecoms Marketing & PR Sales Scientific
Can’t see your sector? View all sectors »

 

 Belfast Birmingham Bristol Edinburgh Leeds Liverpool London Manchester
Can’t see your town? View all locations »

reed.co.uk

One Response to “Temp Talk”

  1. jimpins Says:

    Millions of parents with older children now have the right to ask employers for flexible work arrangements.

    < http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/em/fr/-/2/hi/uk_news/7984202.stm

    added 14 April 2009

Leave a Reply

